Standard Triumph welcomed a huge number of visitors to the works with many famous faces amongst the visitors warranting an official photograph or two.
Continue reading “The Big ‘O’”
A unique piece of Triumph history has gone on display at the RAC Club in Pall Mall, London, this week. There aren’t many bits of early Triumph TR history left. Of the genesis of the Standard Triumph range of sports cars, from TRs to Spitfires, Stags and GT6s, we have little to point at and say, “That’s the start of it all”
Continue reading “TR2 MVC575 Jabbeke speed test”
Canley Halt was opened for passengers on 30th September 1940, primarily to serve the nearby Standard Motor Company’s Works. The crossing had previously been known as Canley Gates from its inception when the London & Birmingham Railway first provided a gate keeper’s house in 1838 to man the gates.
Continue reading “Canley Halt – the Railway”
We have had a couple of names related to the ‘drawing office’ at Canley and backed up with this superb photo.
Continue reading “Drawing Office”
A great series of images from Carmel Langdon have been sent in featuring her mum Mavis and a number of Standard Triumph staff in the sixties.
Carmel says “Mum was in various factory shops and moved continually around” the photos look like a trim shop, there are certainly sewing machines and bits of trim in some of the photos. Mavis can name a number of the people in the photos, so we are working on that too.
Continue reading “Standard Triumph Ladies – Trim Shop. Mavis Langdon Pt1”