Football Team – 1959

Trophies have been collected by the Football Section.
Top of the list is The Coventry Evening Telegraph Challenge Cup, which Standard won for the fifth time since 1940 by defeating Sphinx 3-2 in the final at Highfield Road.

Brilliant goals by 17-year-old inside-left Robin Sant — he scored all three — settled the issue after a goalless first-half. Robin netted the winner eight minutes from time.

The Lord Mayor of Coventry, Ald. H. H. K. Winslow, presented the trophy to Harry Hebbard, captain of the Standard team. A commentary on the match by Jack Patience, Transport Department, was relayed to all four Coventry hospitals.

League Champions Standard have also won the Geoffrey Rootes Cup and are champions of Coventry Service of Youth League, Section A. Next month we shall be reporting on the section’s performances in the Coventry Charity Cup final ; Works League, Division 1 ; Coventry and North Warwickshire League, Reserve Section ; Coventry Benevolent Cup ; Green Cup (Service of Youth, Senior Section) ; and Works League, Division III Internal Cup competition.

The Standard team.
Back row (left to right) : T. Ratcliffe, G. Buckley, J. O’Keeffe, J. Garrett, K. Reynolds, A. Clamp.
Front row : H. Anderton, A. Grant. Harry Hebbard (captain), Robin Sant, D. Brown.